Todd Smith

Leading Ontario’s Energy Future

Todd Smith, born on October 7, 1970, is a prominent Canadian politician and a stalwart member of the Progressive Conservative party. Serving as the Ontario Minister of Energy since June 18, 2021, Smith has consistently demonstrated his commitment to shaping Ontario’s energy landscape for a sustainable future.

A native of Riverview, New Brunswick, Smith’s journey into politics was preceded by a successful career in radio journalism, spanning over 16 years. His tenure as the news director for Quinte Broadcasting solidified his understanding of community dynamics and the importance of effective communication.

Smith’s political career took flight in 2011 when he secured victory as the Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) for Prince Edward—Hastings. Since then, he has been a steadfast advocate for his constituents, diligently representing the Bay of Quinte riding since 2018.

Throughout his tenure, Todd Smith has held several key cabinet positions, including Minister of Government and Consumer Services, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade, and Minister of Children, Community and Social Services. His multifaceted approach to governance underscores his versatility and dedication to addressing diverse societal needs.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Smith spearheaded critical initiatives such as the COVID-19 Action Plan for Vulnerable People and introduced legislation to expand financial assistance for veterans through the Soldiers’ Aid Commission Act.

Transitioning to his current role as Minister of Energy, Smith brings with him a wealth of experience and a forward-thinking vision. Under his leadership, Ontario has witnessed groundbreaking developments, including the announcement of Canada’s first grid-scale small modular reactor and the introduction of innovative energy transparency measures through the Green Button standard.

As Ontario navigates the complexities of energy policy and sustainability, Smith remains steadfast in his commitment to fostering innovation, resilience, and prosperity. His strategic leadership and unwavering dedication continue to shape Ontario’s energy future, ensuring a brighter tomorrow for generations to come.